New Brunswick, Ontario, Manitoba (the provinces in which a decrease in the rate of growth of population as compared with the rate of Canada as a whole, has taken place), is shown in the following statement:—

Province.	Proportion which Population of each Province Bears to the Total Population in Canada.		Decrease in Proportion from 1921-1931,	Ratio of Decrease in Proportion from 1921 to 1931	than, equal to or less than One- Twentieth of
	1921.	1931.		Proportion in 1921.	Proportion in (931,
Prince Edward Island	·01008426 -05961197 ·04413965 ·33384627 -06943053	·00848412 ·04942243 ·03933963 ·33070769 ·06747166	00160014 01018954 00480002 00313858 00195887	-1587 -1709 -1087 -0094 -0282	greater greater greater less less

The above table shows that no reduction should take place in the representation of Ontario or Manitoba, since the proportion which the number of the population of these provinces bore to the number of the aggregate population of Canada at the readjustment of the number of members for the province based on the census of 1921 is ascertained at the census of 1931 to be diminished by less than one-twentieth part.

Nova Scotia.—The proportion for Nova Scotia having diminished by more than one-twentieth part, the provisions of subsection 4 of section 51 do not apply and the representation of Nova Scotia should be reduced, in accordance with the provisions of section 51, subsections 2 and 3 of the Act, by two members.

Prince Edward Island.—Prince Edward Island would only have two members on the strict basis of population but its representation remains unchanged at 4 under the B.N.A. Act of 1915 referred to above.

New Brunswick.—The representation of New Brunswick if fixed by the unit of representation (44,186) would be reduced from 11 to 9; but as the B.N.A. Act of 1915 provided that "a province shall always be entitled to a number of members in the House of Commons, not less than the number of senators representing such province", the representation of New Brunswick will be 10 instead of 9, corresponding with the number of senators from that province.

Yukon.—The representation of Yukon is not determined by the B. N. A. Act, but is within the competence of Parliament to decide. In the following statement it is presumed it will continue to be represented.

The representation, therefore, to which each province is entitled as a result of redistribution based upon the 1931 census will be as follows: Prince Edward Island 4; Nova Scotia 12; New Brunswick 10; Quebec 65; Ontario 82; Manitoba 17; Saskatchewan 21; Alberta 17; British Columbia 16; Yukon 1; total 245.

Constituencies and Representatives in the Seventeenth Parliament.—A complete list of the constituencies, with their 1931 populations, the voters on the list and votes polled at the general election of July 28, 1930, together 52230—64